The Offender Registration Unit maintains public websites in compliance with these Acts:
- Sex Offender Registry,
- Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registry, and
- Missing Sex Offenders List
Links to these sites can be found in the Quick Links to the Right.
The Offender Registration Unit also
- Provides assistance to criminal justice entities administering these Acts;
- Determines equivalencies for offenders from other jurisdictions visiting or establishing residency in Illinois; and
- Imposes administrative extensions of registration requirements as set forth in the Act.
Statutes and Rules
The Offender Registration Unit administers the mandates of the Illinois laws:
Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act and its Administrative Rules –
730 ILCS 150/
20 Ill. Admin. Code 1280
Illinois Sex Offender Community Notification Act and its Administrative Rules –
730 ILCS 152/
20 Ill. Amin. Code 1282
Illinois Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Act and its Rules –
730 ILCS 154/
20 Ill. Admin. Code 1283
Appeal of Extensions
Registration Period Extensions
The ISP shall extend for 10 years the registration period of any offender, who fails to comply with the Sex Offender Registration Act or the Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Registration Act, whichever is applicable. The registration period for any offender who fails to comply shall extend the period of registration by 10 years beginning from the first date of registration after the violation.
Steps for Appealing the Extension
- If the registration period is extended, the ISP shall send a registered letter to the law enforcement agency where the offender resides within 3 days after the extension of the registration period. The offender shall report to that law enforcement agency and sign for that letter.
When the ISP sends the Notice of Administrative Extension letter, a “Petition to Review Circumstances” form will be included. Additionally, a copy may be found on this webpage at the Forms tab. The offender shall have 10 business days from the date of the extension to petition the Department to review the circumstances surrounding the extension of the registration.
- If the offender does not petition the Department within 10 business days, no further review of the extension will be permitted.
If the offender submits a completed petition, as well as any additional documentation deemed relevant and necessary, the ISP will review the circumstances surrounding the extension of the registration and within 30 days, act on the petition as follows:
- If there is sufficient information to warrant the removal of the extension, the ISP will send a letter with an updated ending registration date to both the offender as well as the law enforcement agency where the offender resides.
- If there is insufficient information to warrant a removal of the extension, the ISP will send a letter and “Request for Hearing on Circumstances” form to both the offender as well as the law enforcement agency where the offender resides, advising the offender they may request an administrative hearing within 30 days from the date notice is sent by the ISP.
When the ISP sends a notice of insufficient information, a “Request for Hearing on Circumstances” form will be included. Additionally, a copy of the hearing form may be found on this webpage at the Forms tab. The offender shall have 30 days from the date of notice to request an administrative hearing.
- If the offender does not request an administrative hearing within 30 days from the date the notice is sent, no further review of the extension will be permitted.
- If the offender requests an administrative hearing within 30 days from the date the notice is sent, an administrative law judge will be appointed, and a hearing will be held. The procedures for the hearing shall be as described in Article 10 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100/Art. 10] and as ordered by the administrative law judge (See 20 IAC 1200).
- Within 90 days after the conclusion of the hearing, the administrative law judge shall issue a recommended decision.
- The Director shall be provided with a copy of the entire record, including but not limited to the recommendation of the administrative law judge and shall issue a final administrative decision to the complainant regarding the extension of the registration within 30 days of receiving the record.
Decisions made consistent with this process are subject to the Administrative Review Law [50 ILCS 100/10-50]
For additional information see, 730 ILCS 150/7, 20 Ill Admin. Code 1280.50, 730 ILCS 154/40, and 20 Ill. Admin. Code 1283.60.