

ILLINOIS STATE POLICE NEWS RELEASE

Brendan F. Kelly - Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 29, 2023

CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

ILLINOIS STATE POLICE SQUAD CAR STRUCK BY DUI DRIVER ON DAN RYAN EXPRESSWAY

ISP experiences the 20th Scott's Law related crash of 2023

CHICAGO – On December 29, 2023, at approximately 2:11 a.m., Illinois State Police (ISP) officials investigated a three-vehicle traffic crash involving an ISP trooper's squad car and a Chicago Police Department (CPD) officer's squad car that were hit by a motorist who failed to move over on Interstate 94 southbound near 89th Street in Cook County.

On the above date and time, an ISP Troop 3 trooper's fully-marked squad car was stationary in the fourth lane from the left of Interstate 94 southbound with its emergency lights activated, protecting a crash that occurred in front of them. A fully-marked CPD squad car with its emergency lights activated was stationary behind the ISP squad car, providing extra coverage. Both the trooper and the CPD officers exited their vehicles to tend to the motorists involved in the crash, when a 2019 Honda Pilot, failed to move over, and struck the rear of the CPD squad car, pushing it forward into the rear of the ISP squad car. Two CPD officers were transported to a hospital with injuries. The trooper was uninjured. The driver of the Honda, 36-year-old Markeila C. Pittman of Chicago, was transported to an area hospital with minor injuries. Pittman was issued citations for Scott's Law – Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicles, Aggravated Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol while License Revoked, and numerous other Illinois Vehicle Code violations.

So far this year, ISP has had 20 Move Over Law-related crashes. In 2022, ISP had 23 Move Over Law-related crashes where eight Troopers sustained injuries. ISP is reminding the public of the requirements of the Move Over Law, otherwise known as "Scott's Law". When approaching an emergency vehicle, or any vehicle with their emergency or hazard lights activated, drivers are required to slow down AND move over. A person who violates Scott's Law, commits a business offense and faces a fine of no less than \$250 or more than \$10,000 for a first offense. If the violation results in injury to another person, the violator's driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory period of anywhere between six months and two years. Additional information can be found at the following link: https://isp.maps.arcgis.com/apps/dashboards/340d57cd956c453da2de25af804c268d



12/29/23 Troop 3 Squad Car

12/29/23 CPD Squad Car

All subjects are presumed innocent until proven guilty in a court of law. ####